> Home





Media Coverage




Love Exiles

In the world today, only 16 countries allow gay and lesbian citizens to sponsor their same-sex partner or spouse as legal immigrants: Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Israel, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

In the remaining 176 countries, gay and lesbian citizens and residents are excluded from family reunification immigration programs that allow family members to sponsor spouses, parents and children as legal residents.

Some bi-national same-sex couples find a way to be together. The foreign partner may be able to get a student or work visa. However, these visas do not provide a path to permanent residency.

Love Exiles Foundation
Many same-sex couples choose to immigrate to a country that recognizes their relationship for immigration purposes. They face the challenges of leaving behind their homes, communities, families, jobs and careers to start a new life.

The Love Exiles Foundation supports GLBT couples who have chosen or are considering exile in order to be together.

Love Exiles has local groups in Germany (Köln), the Netherlands (Amsterdam), and the UK (London).

View of Utrecht from the Dom Tower

© 2004 Stichting Love Exiles. All rights reserved.